MOT Check List


MOT Check List

Why checks are carried during an MOT Test?

All vehicles that go on the road must be kept and maintained to a level set by the governing body VOSA (Now DVSA).

When an MOT is carried out certain checks have to be made to make sure that the minimum standards are met. A vehicle does not require an MOT for the first three years, and there are also different rules if the vehicle is being use as a licensed minicab or taxi.

What does a MOT certificate mean?

A MOT certificate is a snap shot in time and indicates the condition of the vehicle at the time MOT test was done on the vehicle.

It confirms that the vehicle has met the minimum acceptable environmental and road safety standards required by law.

So Exactly what is Checked during an MOT?

1. Vehicle Identification Number

The MOT test checks that the Vehicle Identification Number commonly referred to as the VIN is legibly displayed on the vehicle.

2. Registration plate

The MOT tester will check the condition, security, legibility and the format of letters and numbers on your registration plate.

3. Lights

The MOT test checks the condition, operation, security and colour of your vehicles lights. The test will also check to see if the headlamp aim is correct.

4. Steering and suspension

The MOT tester will also check the Steering and Suspension components for correct condition and that the operation is correct.

5. Wipers and washer bottle

During the MOT test will check your vehicles Wipers and Washers ensuring they operate properly and give the driver a clear view of the road.

6. Windscreen

The nominated tester will check the Windscreen condition and driver’s view of the road and that there are no chips or cracks affecting the driver line of sight.

7. Horn

The MOT test will cover the horn’s operation for effectiveness and the type is correct.

8. Seat belts

All seatbelts including those in the rear of the vehicle are checked for type, condition, correct operation and security and that all compulsory seatbelts are in place.

9. Seats

Your vehicle’s front seats are checked for security during the MOT test.

10. Fuel system

The fuel system is checked during the MOT test for leaks and that the fuel cap fastens and seals securely.

11. Emissions

The MOT test covers your exhaust emissions, ensuring that the vehicle is within the specified guidelines and they the exhaust is complete, secure, without serious leaks and silences effectively.

12. Bodywork

Vehicle structure and body shell are checked during the MOT test for excessive corrosion or damage in specific areas of the vehicle. Any sharp edge can result in a MOT failure.

13. Doors

The MOT tester will check that the doors open and close correctly and that the latch is secure in a closed position. Front doors should open from both the inside and outside of the vehicle. Rear doors may need to be opened to gain access to testable items like rear seatbelts.

14. Mirrors

The mirrors on your vehicle are checked during the MOT test for condition and security.

15. Wheels & Tyres

The nominated MOT tester will check the vehicle’s wheels and tyres for a number of key points: the condition, security, tyre size and type and tread depth.

16. Brakes

The MOT tests the efficiency of the vehicle’s braking performance, condition and operation. Most vehicles are tested on a rolling road brake tester.